5. The University Board

KAU has a board chaired by the Minister of Education. Membership of the Board includes the Secretary General of the Council of Higher Education, the president, the vice-presidents, the deans, and three external members appointed by the Minister of Education. The Board is responsible for all university operations. It grants degrees to students, approves academic programs, faculty appointments, etc. It makes recommendations to the Council of Higher Education in other matters.

6. The President of the University

The President is the chief academic and executive officer of the University. He is responsible for administering the University's affairs in accordance with the Law, the Charter of the Council of Higher Education, government edicts, and decisions of the Council of Higher Education and the University Board. He also represents the University in contacts with outside organizations. His Excellency the President is appointed by a Royal Decree for renewable four-year terms, and reports to His Excellency the Minister of Education.

7. University Administration

The President is assisted by six Vice-Presidents:

- The Vice-President
- The Vice-President for Postgraduate Studies & Scientific Research
- The Vice-President for Development
- The Vice-President for Projects
- The Vice-President for Academic Affairs
- The Vice-President for Business and Knowledge Innovation

The six Vice-Presidents are assisted by Deans, Directors of different Centers, Academic Department Chairs, and the General Supervisor for Administrative and Financial affairs.